Home / NEWS LINE / Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS)

Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS)

What Is the Fatalities Actuarial Society?

The Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS) is a professional society of actuaries, and the accrediting body for the Associate of the Casualty Actuarial Group (ACAS) and the Fellow of the Casualty Actuarial Society (FCAS) designations.

Understanding the Casualty Actuarial Society

The Casualty Actuarial Friendship (CAS) requires all candidates to qualify through a series of rigorous actuarial exams, covering all aspects of actuarial practice counting mathematics, finance, economics, insurance, enterprise risk management, and actuarial science.

Successful completion of (or credit for) exams one by seven and attendance at the CAS Course on Professionalism satisfy the education requirements for associateship. Satisfactory completion of (or credit for) all nine exams is needed for fellowship, the highest distinction a member can receive.

Formed in 1914, the organization began with 97 charter fellows. CAS emerged as a result of discrepancies that arose between sickness, disability, and casualty insurance related to workers’ compensation, and well-known life insurance. The more than 9,100 CAS members are employed by reinsurance companies, insurance companies, educational asyla, insurance brokers, state insurance departments, rate making organizations, non-traditional employers, independent consulting establishes, and the federal government.

Check Also

Fully Paid Shares Definition

What Are Fully Paid Appropriations? Fully paid shares are shares issued for which no more …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *